<span class="highlight">Solar</span> <span class="highlight">Panel</span> Security

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 20:09
ThreadID: 99571 Views:2797 Replies:8 FollowUps:11

I am interested to know what others do to secure their solar panels when you are not in camp.

I have a set of 160w folding (sandwich board type) panels.

I am noit keen on leaving them unguarded when I am not around, so I pack them inside the CT, which defeats the purpose of having them really.

I realize I could chain them to the CT, which would only slow down a thief, not actually prevent it, is that the best I can do, just curious as to what other campers do?

Barry H

barry H

Reply By: racinrob - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 20:25

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 20:25
G'day Barry.
Although probably not as efficient, myself like a lot of others fix them permanently to the roof of our camper or tow vehicle.

rr
AnswerID: 500767

Follow Up By: Member - Barry H (WA) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 20:31

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 20:31
Thanks for that rob, I had thought of that, but I think that would be the same as locking it in the CT, if I use the vehicle for some 4WDriving, then I am not using the panels for battery charging.

Barry H
FollowupID: 776803

Follow Up By: Robyn R4 - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 20:41

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 20:41
Interesting question. Thank you!
We've just bought exactly the same thing. Hubby was recently in the process of working out how to attach to the roofracks of the Sorento for security and then realised that he'd 'always' have to park the car in the sun...and yes, when we're out driving, it's all disconnected...
Fixing to the roof of the camper is probably easier than the roof of the car, but...
Hmmm. Don't suppose it'd be practical to attach them to the roof of our tent... LOL
I knew we shouldn't have sold the van!!
FollowupID: 776805

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 20:51

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 20:51
Hi Barry,

I have a decent cable with a combination lock and I secure the panels (same setup as yours) to my bullbar.

I reckon a bit of faith in my fellow man and a decent cable I should be alright.

It's no good hiding them away, anyway what's to stop some cretin from getting into your CT and taking them.

If someone is set on taking what is yours they'll probably have a go whatever you do.

Merry Christmas,
AnswerID: 500772

Reply By: Kris and Kev - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 21:18

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 21:18
I, and I think most, just use a decent size stainless steel wire cable and locks.Mine is 10 metres long, eye at each end, with one eye larger in case I wish to loop the other end through and then have a lock. Will not stop someone who really wants to steal the panel, but will slow them down and it deters most thieves who are opportunistic and lazy lowlife. Also make sure your insurance covers your panel. I got mine made up at a local marine/fishing tackle shop. Kevin
AnswerID: 500775

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 21:20

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 21:20
Hi Barry, I use a Toylock, it is a 15 metre retractable cable bolted to the car. Just put a lock on it.

AnswerID: 500776

Follow Up By: Bush Wanderer - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 01:24

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 01:24
Andy, is this 15ft or 15m ? Looks good but I can only find 15ft or 18ft on their website.
BW.....
FollowupID: 776831

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 08:33

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 08:33
My mistake, 15 feet. so use to metric.
Andy

FollowupID: 776836

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 22:06

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 22:06
I had a 10 metre length of stainless steel multi-strand cable made up to secure the Thumper, fridge and solar panels when camping.

Used it once.

I now rely on the law of averages that no low life will be present at the same time, in the same place, where I am camping.

I still have the cable and padlock, but would only use it if I am in doubt of the area I'm camping in.

I attended this year's running of the Bathurst V8 Supercar event and camped in the centre of the track for 6 days.
I set up the bi-fold Solar panel on top of the Colorado's canopy and left it there for the entire time. (except for one period when we drove into town for the driver's parade)
The Engel and Thumper were located under the awning of the Oztent and left unattended for considerable time each day during our stay.
Mind you, there were several hundred people in adjacent camping "lots" who were present at various times of each day.

I figured the entire population of the camping area, like me, were there to enjoy the atmosphere surrounding the running of this iconic race and having their own solution for an extended camping stay, were not interested in "updating their equipment" by pinching others property.

We experienced a wonderful stay at the track and can only say the event has "matured" over what we may have expected from folk who have been there before, albeit several years ago.

AnswerID: 500779

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 23:36

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 23:36
I also have a 10 metre stainless cable and a couple of padlocks so it gives me a chance to get the panels out in the sun somwhere.
But to make me feel a bit more at ease about leaving the panels out like that, I have engraved in rather large letters my car rego on the frame of the panels.
A cheap engraving tool from Dick Smith does the job.
'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 776828

Follow Up By: racinrob - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 07:39

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 07:39
The CMCA (Campervan & Motorhome Club) preach "Lock it or lose it", and I believe that. Even at their rallies with over a thousand vehicles things like generators and eskies go "missing". Don't tempt light fingered people by leaving stuff around.

rr
FollowupID: 776835

Reply By: kidsandall - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 07:52

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 07:52
3 yrs on the road full time and never bothered locking them. I had people move them to keep them in the sun for us but never lost them. Sometimes we were out from dawn till dusk and not a problem.

Josh
AnswerID: 500785

Reply By: Member - Sanantone - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 09:18

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 09:18
I've always worked on the principal, that if they want it, they will take it, but if you make it harder than them walking past, picking it up & walking away, then they may look else where?

As most have said, lock it or lose it, is just good practice.

Tony
"For the Rover's life has pleasures, that the townsfolk will never know" - sort of from Banjo Paterson

AnswerID: 500794

Reply By: Rockape - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 09:23

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 09:23
Barry,
These work alright.

Alarm cable lock
AnswerID: 500795

Follow Up By: Derek Jones - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 12:43

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 12:43
Thanks for the heads up on those Rockape. Ordered one for new year camping trip.
FollowupID: 776849

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 18:29

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 18:29
Do they need solar panels to run them RA? :-)
FollowupID: 776863

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 18:34

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 18:34
No,
little 9v battery is all and you can't get to the battery without setting off the alarm.
FollowupID: 776864

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 17:25

Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 17:25
Thanks RA

This is the second time I have acted on your advise.

I have just ordered one.

You're costing me money. LOL

Have a safe Christmas.

FollowupID: 776921

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 08:00

Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 08:00
Boo Boo,

My kids never act on my advise and they still cost me money. There is something wrong here. LOL.

You also have a good Christmas also.
FollowupID: 776949